Switching to vegan and cruelty-free makeup can be daunting at first. I’m sure all of us had a time when we first became vegan and were shocked to see half of our makeup collections were neither vegan or cruelty-free. Don’t fret. Don’t think as soon as you go vegan you have to throw out all of your items and buy new ones- you’ll just end up contributing to waste and spending a lot of money! So, take your time, and replace an item at a time as and when they run out- that’s the way I have done it, and it’s what I’d recommend you to do if you want to make the switch.

I’ve now found the perfect selection of items which work for me, my skin, my budget, and my ethics. It’s daunting at first when searching for makeup replacements, as there are so many brands out there- which do you choose?!

Well, I took my time and did a lot of research and selected products which not only had great reviews but are also a good option for those suffering from oily and combination skin. Sound up your street? Keep on reading!

Face

P1040748.JPG

I like to set my makeup first with a primer- I use The Ordinary High Adherence Silicone Primer which goes on really smooth and keeps my makeup in place all day. I love The Ordinary products after recently discovering them, and I’m obsessed!

As I’m so pale, I’m pretty prone to red marks as soon as a pimple erupts, so a good concealer was first on my list. After reading tonnes of reviews, I opted for the Tarte Shape Tape concealer, and guys, it’s the best thing EVER! It’s now my holy grail item and I can’t live without it- from covering uneven skin tone and red areas, this concealer works like magic! I find a little goes a long way, so it’s definitely worth the price as it lasts so long.

After discovering the Korean B.B Cream I used has milk powder and silk in the ingredients, I searched online to find a medium coverage, lightweight alternative. I went for The Ordinary Coverage Foundation from Cult Beauty in the shade 1.2 Light Yellow- I’m pretty pale, but I do have yellow undertones, so the colour match is perfect for me.

P1040746.JPG

This foundation is absolutely amazing. It’s cheap, lightweight, yet covers any blemishes I have. A little goes a long way, so this small bottle is sure to last me a long time.

P1040747.JPG

To set my face makeup, I use the amazing Cover FX Perfect Setting Powder in the shade Light. I’ll admit this product is a little pricey, at £10 for this small tub, but a little does go a long way. I also can’t leave the house without wearing it now, as it sets my makeup beautifully and keeps me from going oily ALL day long. It’s truly amazing!

Eyes

After curling my lashes, I use the E.L.F Mineral Infused Mascara– and at just £4.50, it’s an absolute bargain! This mascara is hands down the best I have ever used. It separates your lashes whilst making them look so long and full.

Sticking with E.L.F, I use their Intense Ink Eyeliner to finish off an eye look. This eyeliner is super easy to use and is sort of a felt-tip style, making it easy to hold and apply. However, do make sure your eye area is dry before applying, as I’ve found if your eyelids are oily the eyeliner tends to not be as pigmented and smudges- so I usually apply some powder or natural coloured eyeshadow to my eyelids beforehand to prep them.

Lips

I like to keep it natural when it comes to lips, so for everyday wear, I’ll use a tinted lip balm. My two go-to balms are the Tinted Lip Balm in Red & Berried by Bloomtown and the E.L.F Lip Balm Tint in Berry.

P1040770.JPG

For a more glam look, I use the E.L.F Essential Lip Stain. I hate the feel of lipsticks and lip glosses, so a stain is perfect for me. However, unfortunately, they don’t sell this on their U.K. website, so I had to buy some (brand new and in their packaging) from eBay.

P1040771.JPG

I hope my makeup suggestions help those who are looking to switch to vegan and cruelty-free makeup! 

Emma x

P.s. If you have any suggestions I’d love to know! What are your favourite vegan and cruelty-free blushes and eyeshadows? 

2 thoughts on “Vegan & Cruelty-Free Makeup Routine

    1. I really love ELF! The only product I didn’t like is their powder as it made me look orange 😦 You really do need to try them! I got mine from Cult Beauty- I don’t think I’ve ever seen them in stores. All the products were around the £5 mark 😀 x

      Like

Leave a comment